RSS Feed

Not my mother’s salad

caramel apples

This past Thanksgiving I made a salad I found on allrecipes called Taffy apple salad. It got RAVE reviews by kids and adults alike. So my mother having Christmas dinner at her house decided to make the same salad. So she reads through the recipe and thinks, well we have a few diet restrictions, I’ll leave out the marshmallows, and my dad likes cashews, so I’ll put those in instead of peanuts, and it is lacking color, so I’ll add som maraschino cherries for color. Then she decided that grandma’s Lemon Goop, would be better than the sauce made with the pineapple juice in the recipe.

At dinner, she asks my brother, “How do you like Laurie’s salad?”, he replies, “I don’t know, I haven’t tried it yet!”  This is a great salad made just the way it was written.  If you have have diet restrictions?  Don’t eat it.  It’s not for the faint of heart.

Taffy Apple Salad

1 20 ounce can of pineapple chunks

2 cups miniature marshmallows

1 1/2 cup white sugar

1 egg beaten

1 tbsp all-purpose flour

2 cups chopped red apples

2 cups raw spanish peanuts

1 8 ounce container frozen whipped topping thawed

  1. Drain pineapple juice into medium saucepan. Combine pineapple chunks and marshmallows into a bowl and refrigerate
  2. Add vinegar, sugar, egg and flour to pineapple juice; mix well. Cook over medium heat until thick. Remove from heat and refrigerate until chilled.
  3. Combine juice mixture with pineapple and marshmallows. Add apples, peanuts and whipped topping. Mix well and chill before serving.
About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

3 responses »

  1. You forgot to put how many apples you need in the ingredients. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Thanks my little editor! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Well; when you put it that way, it is pretty funny LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

