RSS Feed

Bumper crop of Beans

Posted on

I am probably going to date myself here, but do you remember when you were a kid and you had to pick beans in the summer?  At summers end I vowed to never eat another green bean again.  A short season, but to a kid, it seemed like an eternity.  When the season ended if you were good enough, at 2 1/2 cents a pound you might walk away with $100.00.  Oh the plans we had for that money!

Now I can’t wait for the season to start. I watch patiently as the bushes fill up and when that first bean appears on the bush it never makes it to the plate. It is eaten fresh in the garden.

This year the garden is producing more than I can keep up with. I planted what I thought was enough to eat  through the season, but with perfect weather here in the west, we are seeing a bumper crop this year.  I have steamed them, thrown them in soups, and salads, marinated, pickled, and stir-fryed them, but last night I was thumbing through Eating Well Magazine and saw a wonderful article with several recipes for green beans. One stood out for me that had both the abundance of beans I had, and the summer squash that was staring me in the face. So thanks to them, I have several more dishes to try before the crop is through.  Image

 

String Beans and Summer Squash

1 Tbsp EVOO

1 lb green or yellow wax beans trimmed and halved

1 large summer squash, halved lengthwise, then cut crosswise into 1/2 inch slices

2 medium cloves garlic, minced

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper

1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth

1 tsp dried marjoram or 2 tsp fresh chopped

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add beans, squash, garlic, salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are beginning to brown, about 3 minutes.

Add broth, cover and reduce the heat to medium. Cook until the beans are tender crisp, 4 or 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and stir in marjoram.

 

Note:  I used Rosemary from the garden instead of the marjoram and it tasted wonderful.  

 

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

