RSS Feed

Baking Day

Posted on

Yesterday my daughter Paige dropped by bearing gifts.  What did I do to deserve this!  In her arms were two Tupperware containers. One was full of ripened bananas, and the other was full of fresh herbs cut from her roommates counter top herb garden.  The herbs I soon found out were a bribe for me to make her banana bread.  She LOVES bread of any kind.  So today I am listening to Classic Rock and baking banana bread.  I thought I would share this simple but delicious recipe with my readers. 

No Mixer Banana Bread

3 or 4 ripened bananas smashed
1/3 cup melted butter
3/4 cup sugar
zest of half a lemon
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
1 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350

In a large bowl smash the bananas. Add 1/3 cup butter folding it in. Mix the sugar, egg and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix into the bananas and butter. Add the flour and mix all ingredients together. Pour mixture into a buttered loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

One response »

  1. Hey, I just found your site doing a search on tortillas shells. You have some really great stuff on here, like your peanut mole. I love that recipe. I will try it out soon. Do you still write, maybe changed sites?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

