RSS Feed

Jamaican Style Chicken

Posted on

This is a great marinade for a cut up chicken, chicken strips skewered for the bbq or even shrimp.  It calls for habanero peppers.  I used jalapeno because that is all I could find out here in the boonies, and it wasn’t hot enough. I also doubled the recipe because I was using a whole cut up fryer.  I really loved the tangy spicy flavor of this marinade.  I will definitely be using it again.  I served it with the Cilantro rice from the mole chicken recipe and the family loved it.

Jamaican Style Chicken

1 tsp onion, finely chopped
3 Tbsp. brown sugar
4 Tbsp. low sodium soy sauce
4 Tbsp. red wine vinegar
2 tsp. chopped fresh thyme
1 tsp. sesame oil
3 cloves garlic chopped
1/2 tsp. ground allspice
1 habanero pepper, sliced (use gloves)
4 skinless boneless chicken breast halves cut into 1 inch strips

Combine the onion, brown sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, thyme, sesame oil, garlic, allspice and habanero pepper in food processor. Process until smooth. Place the chicken in shallow dish or resealable plastic bag, and pour 3/4 of the sauce over chicken. Marinade in the refrigerator for at least one hour.

Remove chicken from bag. Discard marinade. Broil chicken or bbq for 10-15 minutes, turning once to ensure even cooking.

Heat remaining sauce in a small pan, pour over chicken when serving.

 

 

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

