RSS Feed

Cool Eats, Cool Treats

champagnecreek.gifA few months back my favorite winery from Southern Oregon closed. Champagne Creek Cellars a little rustic vineyard with so much charm and award winning wines decided to close there doors.  Unfortunately, I was up here in Scio and heard the news after they had closed their doors.  It was a privilege getting to taste their award winning wines, meeting the staff and owners that gave their customers quality wines and customer service.  So where am I going with this?

 Last week, while out and about and looking for treasures to cook my latest meals, I happened to stop at a Canned Food Outlet.  I was looking for Fontina, Gruyere, and perhaps a bottle or two of wine.  While checking through their collection of wines, I saw that they had a wine from Champagne Creek.  It was a 2003 Merlot.  I paid 22.00 for that bottle at the vineyard, but on that day it was a mere 3.99.  WOW  I went back today and picked up the last of what they had. I also got a great bottle from Giradet in Southern Oregon too, a Rouge, that normally goes for 20.00 for 3.99.  Check them out sometime.  For 40 bucks I got some great cheeses and some awesome bottles of wine for my wine rack.

gir.gif<

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

