RSS Feed

Iced Coffee

french-press.jpg

I fought the craze of Starbucks, Dutch Bros., and other quaint little coffee shops.  I didn’t want to like it. But I got bit!  I LOVE iced coffee’s.  It nearly kills me to pay 3 and 4 bucks for a cup off coffee, but WOW are they ever better than Folgers!

So I did some hunting on the Internet to find out the best way to reproduce that aromatic, delicious cup of energy.  I think I found it.  I purchased a french press.  It is so simple it is almost scary.  Or as I say?  EASY!

I got my press at Starbucks.  Mine has markings on the side for how much ground coffee to put in the carafe, and how much water.  Makes it easy, but for those who don’t have that, it is 2 TBSP coffee ( I used expresso blend with course grind) for every cup of coffee.  Then add your water, just to the boiling point.  Take chopsticks, or long utensil, and stir the coffee just till it starts to bloom (about 3-4 stirs).  Put the lid on and let it steep, approx. 5 min. for 6 cups, a bit longer if you like your coffee stronger. 

Once it has steeped push the plunger down in one solid move. 

Viola!  You have coffee.

Now it is just a matter of how you like your coffee.  I prefer mine with a bit of skim milk, and Splenda.  I like it both hot and over ice. You could add your syrups, or cream or whole milk, whatever your heart desires. Experiment, enjoy and have fun!

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

