RSS Feed

Philly Cheese Steak Samich

cheesesteak.jpg

What is better than a Philly Cheese Steak?  Nothing in my opinion.  I eat red meat once a week at most.  This is my go to dish when I do.  Not only is it EASY, but oh so tasty. 

My favorite way to make this is to go to the butcher and have them slice me some rib eye steaks sandwich thin.  If I don’t have the time to get that, I usually go to my deli here locally and ask for their Angus Roast to be sliced thicker than their deli cut and always the rare cut.

Rolls are imperative here, you need to find a fresh good tasting roll.  I have tried several, and the San Francisco International brand is my favorite hands down. Crispy yet chewey.  Mmmmm (mouth is watering)

Lastly, and I know you are all cringing out here after reading this… Cheese Whiz… It’s a must. Isn’t true Philly Cheese Steak without it.  If you use anything other than, you are eating a french dip with cheese. Trust me.

So lets get to making this samich!

Philly Cheese Steak Samich

Rib Eye Steak from butcher, cut sandwich thin
San Franciso International Rolls
CheeseWhiz
1 Sweet Onion
Butter
Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper

In a saute pan, add a swirl of olive oil to coat and heat on medium heat.  Add onion and cook slowly till onions are tender and golden.  Remove from heat.

While onions are caramelizing, put Cheez Whiz in a bowl and microwave, or in a small saucepan on the stove.

Heat a griddle or large pan with olive oil and butter.  Quickly just heat through the pieces of steak or meat. You don’t want to over cook your meat or they will be tough.  I just cook till they are browned, season with salt and pepper at this time.  Remove each piece of meat from heat and cover plate.

Last step is to butter your rolls, and either broil them in the oven, or put them face down on an oiled griddle just till browned.

Assembling:  Layer your steak or beef across the roll, top with onion then cheeze whiz.  Time to devour!

Proper eating technique:  It is said the proper way to eat this particular samich is to bend over and stick your butt out. 

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

3 responses »

  1. Jake Hollywood

    If you’ve ever set foot in Philadelphia (or the suburbs), you’d soon know that no one ever calls it a “Philly Cheese Steak,” it’s simply a “cheesesteak.” And, no self-respecting Philadelphian would ever–no matter what those idiots at Pat’s do–put cheez wiz on a such a fine meal.

    Reply
  2. I have never been to Philadelphia for a “true” cheese steak sandwich, but hope to get there soon. I have read, seen, and tasted many here on the west coast, and have to agree with Tony Luke, from Tony Luke’s, that is is the Whiz.

    Reply
  3. LIKE OH MY GAWD!!!!! I GREW UP IN PHILLY N THEY HAVE THEM LIKE ON EVERY CORNER LIKE FREAKIN CORNER STORES IN NEW YORK LOL….BUT U GOTTAH LUVV DEM DOE OHILLY CHEESE STEAKS ARE LIKE AMAZING!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

