RSS Feed

Just For The Halibut

Posted on

halibut3.jpgWith 30 some packages of Halibut in my freezer, I am constantly thinking of ways to cook it. Chris could eat the beer batter fish every time, but what fun is that?  I had seen a show on Food Network for a tater tot encrusted halibut, and thought I would give it a try, but without the tater tots.  So I knew I wanted to encrust it in grated potato but what would be the glue?  Below you will see how I put it together. I think it turned out quite good.  Chris even said it was a “Do Over”  So I will be adding this to the halibut rotation. I didn’t measure ingredients, it was all eyeballed. So the measurements below are guestimates.

Potato encrusted Halibut
(2 servings)

2 pieces of Halibut, 2 inch thickness
1 small potato
1/2 cup Mayonnaise
1/8 cup sharp cheddar cheese
1 tsp. tarragon more or less depending on your taste
1/2 fresh squeezed lemon
pepper

salt
2 Tbsp. olive oil

Mix mayonnaise, taragon, cheese, and lemon juice together; set aside.  Grate potato and squeeze out excess water with paper towels.  Pat dry halibut steaks, season with salt and pepper on both sides.  Generously spread mayonnaise mix on top of Halibut steaks.  Press grated potato onto mayonnaise.  Plastic wrap can be placed over top to help press into mix.

Heat a skillet on stove top with olive oil.  Gently place potato side of halibut in pan and sear till potatoes are slightly golden brown.  Turn and sear other side for 2-3 min. depending on thickness of steaks.  Remove from heat and transfer to a preheated 400 degree oven.  Cook an additional 12 min. watching not to burn.  Remove from heat, let set for 5 min. and serve.

I served this along side some Basmati Wild Rice and Asian Fresh Green Beans.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

