RSS Feed

Four to Nothing… but who’s keeping track

Posted on

Chris and I went fishing behind the house tonight. Cool little pond, about 2 acres or so, filled with blue gill and small bass.  We grabbed a couple beers and headed back to see if we could catch a few, releasing of course. 

First half hour we were practicing our casting mostly.  With the little bass tackle we had, we were using rooster tails.  Just as we were about to head back to start supper, the fish started biting.  I was having a helluva time setting the hook.  First two fish I landed were small 6 inchers.  Chris decided to move across the pond to the other side.  He said, “Where there are little fish, there has to be big fish.”  Just as he said that, I had a big bite on my pole.  I said “I got one, It’s BIG!”   He ran as fast as he could around the pond, I knew if he didn’t see it, he wouldn’t believe me. 

Out of the water I pulled a 14 inch small mouth Bass.  It had stripped my line, broke water, and gave a helluva  fight.  It was awesome.  In one hour 4 fish. Some people spend an entire day fishing to only get nibbles or bites, or totally skunked.  And to think…. this is in my backyard~

Four to Nothing…… Let’s see what the next trip brings.  Chris is making a trip to Bi-mart to see what tackle he will use next.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

2 responses »

  1. love your fishing story. have a good day.

    Reply
  2. Thank you… it was a great day

    Reply

Leave a Reply

