RSS Feed

Sausage, Onion, Mushroom Pizza with Beer Crust

Posted on

sausage-pizza.jpgEasy and very tasty pizza that is sure to please the pickiest of eaters.  This recipe from start to finish literally takes about 45 minutes. Any combinations of toppings could be used.  The crust I remember from when I was a teenager.  My brother’s girlfriend at the time invited our family over for dinner, and her father prepared pizza for us all. We were so blown away by the pizza crust that I still remember it to this day.  I decided to try and replicate it. I think next time I will use self-rising flour and see if I can’t get it even fluffier, and instead of a light beer (it’s all I had) I will try something with more flavor.

Beer Pizza Crust

3 cups flour
4 tsp. Baking Powder
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 12 ounce beer

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, stir till dough becomes sticky.  It will look like it isn’t going to work.  Take a hand full of flour and dust your rolling surface.  Knead the dough a few times to make the dough workable.  Roll out into either 2 small thin crust pizzas or 1 family sized (square pan) or large round deep dish pizza.  You could use the second pizza for calzones.

Place rolled dough on baking sheet sprayed with PAM or olive oil.  Top with your favorite toppings.  Cook at 425 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

Mushroom, Onion, Sausage Pizza

Turkey sausage (3) casings removed
1 small onion
1 tbsp. flour
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1/4 cup Marsala wine
2 cups mushrooms, sliced
1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan
1 -1/2 cup grated mozerella

Crumble sausage into a hot skillet add onions and cook till onions are tender and sausage is no longer pink. Add flour and stir, cooking an additional minute to cook the flour. Add Marsala wine and mushrooms, cook continuing to stir till mushrooms soak up the liquid. Remove from heat, and add the grated Parmesan cheese.

Top pizza crust with sausage mixture, add grated mozerella and bake.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

