RSS Feed

Turkey and White Bean Soup

Posted on

whitebean.jpgEating the Mediterranean way I am constantly looking for ways to get more fiber (25 grams a day) into my diet.  On rainy days like today there is nothing better than a big pot of soup to satisfy ones hunger.  I found this recipe in Rachael Ray’s Magazine and adapted to what I had in my refrigerator.  I used leftovers from a boneless turkey breast I cooked and stock I made from that, along with Spinach instead of the arugula.  I love the flavor of Tarragon in my soup, so I added a few tsp. of that along with the salt and pepper to taste.

Turkey and White Bean Soup

4 slices bacon, finely chopped (I used canadian bacon, less fat)
1 onion, finely chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound red potatoes, cut into cubes
4 cups stock
1 whole rotisserie chicken or leftover poultry
Two 15.5 ounce cans cannellini  beans
5 cups arugula, or spinach
salt and pepper to taste

In a dutch oven, cook bacon over medium heat until crisp. Add onion and garlic, cook till tender. Add potatoes and 4 cups stock and cook till potatoes are tender, about 15 min.

Meanwhile, pull the meat off the chicken. (Save the carcass for chicken stock)

Add chicken and white beans to the soup and cook till heated through. Just before serving stir in the spinach or arugula and season to taste.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

