RSS Feed

Mothers Day

Posted on

mothersday1.jpg

Mother’s Day makes us all sit back and remember our mothers for their nurturing, caring, and loving. You can’t help but go back and remember special things that only a mother can do.  Shrimp Wiggle, Cella Lambrusco, and the announcement that she was going to be a grandma is one of the fondest memories I have. I asked my mother to write it down and email it to me.  For some reason I thought the recipe was much more difficult than it is.  I suppose that is the difference between being 21 and  (cough, cough).  She put a little story about where it came from and her remembrance of it.  So here it is, I have not made it since receiving it so no picture is attached, will add one later on.

Shrimp Wiggle was a recipe that your Grandma Gayle liked to make.  She was a very good cook, and at one time wanted to join the Navy and go to their cooking school.  She tried to enlist, but was turned down because she had a heart abnormality, which eventually caused her death at the untimely age of 52. 

Gayle always used the small salad shrimp in this recipe, but when I make it I like to use a larger size, even though you will need to cut the larger shrimp into about 1/2″ to 1″ pieces.  I just like the firmness and texture of the larger shrimp so much better.  And you are right. . . . There is no written recipe for this dish.   Gayle told me how she did it, and I just tried to remember what she said and follow the general ideas of it.

Shrimp Wiggle

1  Pound precooked shrimp
1  Pkg small green peas frozen
1/2 Cup sliced mushrooms
1/2 Cup chopped onions
1/4 Cup chopped  red  bell peppers
2-  Tbsp butter
2-  Tbsp Flour
1 Cup Milk
Salt and pepper
1/4 tsp nutmeg (or grate a generous skiff of nutmeg into this sauce)
dash of pepper sauce (like Tabasco)
Grated Parmesan Cheese. .   Be generous. . .

Make a Roux Sauce like the one above, or make your own favorite version. ( If too thick, I like to add a little white wine to the sauce.)

Saute the onions, mushrooms and red bell peppers in EVO or butter, and sprinkle with lemon pepper and garlic salt .

Add the green peas and the shrimp.  Stir together ande cook about 3 or 4 minutes, until warmed through. 

Now stir in the Roux Sauce and the juice of 1/2 lemon.

Serve over linguine pasta or rice.

This dish always used to cheer you up when you were a little down i the dumps.  When I make it now I always think of you and of Gayle. 

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

2 responses »

  1. SeaFood Fanatic!

    I love this blog. Amazing! When I use recipes from here I always give credit where credit is due. Thanks! Don’t stop blogging!!

    Reply
  2. Thank you… I love to hear that people are reading it and enjoying the recipes. I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

