RSS Feed

Comfort Food gone healthy?

Posted on

macncheese.jpgHealthy comfort food. Is that possible?  Sure it is.  After spending most of yesterday doing my bookwork for taxes, yeah… I know… cutting it close there.  Ever hear the word Extension?  Anyway… I didn’t get the chance to get to the store to buy groceries so I scrounged the freezer and found my last pound of ground beef from the butcher and decided that I would just whip out some  hamburger patties a veggie or salad and Mac and Cheese.  The trick would be to make it fairly friendly to the way I eat.  So below is the low fat version  (adapted from the weight-watcher cookbook) of my favorite comfort food Mac and Cheese.  It wasn’t too bad!

The recipe below is from the Weight Watchers Homestyle Recipes. I like the traditional dish without the onions and garlic and omitted that step. I added some worceshire and a bit of dried mustard to mine for the taste I like.

Three-Cheese Macaroni and Cheese

1 tbsp plus 1 tsp margerine ( I used butter, trans fats in margerine)
1 tbsp minced onion
1 clove garlic
3 cups cooked macaroni pasta ( I used whole wheat penne)
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
1 1/2 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
1 Tbsp. Parmesan cheese
pepper

In a 2-quart casserole, in microwave, melt the butter on high for 30 seconds. Stir in onion and garlic; microwave on high for 1 min.

Stir in remaining ingredients, mixing well to combine. Cover and microwave on High 3 minutes, until heated through. Let stand 1 minute.

Per serving: 280 calories If following the original recipe above with no deviations

14 grams of protein
10 grams of fat
34 grams carbs
205 mg. calcium
260 mg sodium
26 mg cholesterol
2 g dietary fiber

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

