RSS Feed

Baked Balsamic Salmon with Fruit Salsa

Posted on

balsamic-salmon-001.jpgMango’s I have decided are only good from a tropical place fresh as fresh can be.  I purchased a mango to make a fruit salsa for the salmon in the freezer and was excited to pair the two dishes.  I chopped the mango into 1 inch cubes, grabbed one, popped it in my mouth and went ACKKK!  It was terrible.  So in the garbage it went.  Not the first time I have thrown a mango away.  So to the pantry I went, and grabbed a can of mixed fruit from Pacific Pride.  In it were pineapple, bananas, watermelon, peaches, and who knows what else.  I added a few fresh kiwis and came up with a yummy zesty fruit salsa.

Next I prepared the salmon with a Balsamic glaze that I reduced on the stove. Easy quick preparation for a flaky salmon with no mess. I served it along side wild rice with mushrooms with a splash of truffle oil to finish it off, and the fruit salsa.

Fruit Salsa

1 cup of your favorite seasonal or in my case a canned fruit with fresh added
3 Tbsp. Olive Oil
2 Tbsp fresh cilantro chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 green onion, chopped
1/4 red onion, chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
Juice of 1 lime or citrus fruit
salt and pepper to taste
sugar or splenda (if fruit is not sweet enough)

Combine salsa ingredients and refrigerate a few hours.   

Balsamic Salmon

4 salmon fillet’s
4 cloves Garlic
1 Tbsp. White Wine
1 Tbsp honey
1/3 cup balsamic Vinegar
4 tsp. Dijon mustard
salt and pepper
1 Tbsp. chopped fresh herbs  (oregano, basil, parsley, whatever your favorite is)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil and coat with cooking spray.

Spray sauce pan with cooking spray. Heat pan over medium heat and stir in garlic. Cook till soft, between 3-5 minututes. Mix wine, honey, balsamic vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper. Cook till reduced down and becomes thicker, about 5 minutes or so.

Arrange filets on baking sheet. Brush with balsamic glaze and sprinkle with fresh oregano.

Bake 10-14 minutes or till it becomes flaky with a fork. Remove from pan and serve.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

