RSS Feed

Blogging Etiquette

Posted on

It has been a few days since I have posted. I confess, I wasn’t sure I was going to continue with this Blog. I was contacted (in private) by a fellow food blogger about a recipe that I cooked, posted, and was disappointed in. I was disappointed in an ingredient I really wanted to like. She thought my post was “knocking” a fellow blogger and friend. Far from it. I love the blog, which is why I chose to share my experience with others.

Apparently there is an unspoken etiquette when blogging. To quote her
“When we’re not so fond of our own results, however, it’s an unspoken rule that we don’t usually don’t blog about it — though if we think there’s something wrong with the recipe (vs a difference in taste) or that there might be a typo (it happens, we all make mistakes!), then it’s absolutely appropriate for us to contact the blogger via e-mail to inquire”.

And here I thought the purpose of blogging was to critique, share, explore… boy was I wrong!

With that said, the post is gone, I have removed the bloggers from my favorites list and I will not be posting any other persons recipes from a blog on my site. I will however, post family recipes, my favorites, friends, and recipes I find on the internet giving the appropriate “kudos” (as I did in my critique’d post) to the person who’s recipe or idea was posted.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

One response »

  1. Wow, someone should come up with a food blogger etiquette handbook.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

