RSS Feed

Mediterranean Diet

Posted on

This past week I went in for my annual blood work up at the doctor. The results were not what I had wanted to hear. I have moved into the pre-diabetic stage or insulin resistance stage as they refer to it. Luckily I am at a point where it can be reversed. So with diet and exercise, which I hate, the exercise that is, I am going to bring the numbers down. It does explain a lot of the things going on with my body that ISN’T Menopause related, which that is a whole nother blog.

The Mediterranean Style Diet is what we are focusing on here. It is not unlike the South Beach diet, a bit more realistic perhaps. It does, however, limit your intake of red meats, and that includes, pork and lamb to 1-2 times a month. No margarine’s or canola oils, just olive oil and LOTS of plant based foods with fish and chicken as your main source of protein. So see not so bad SO far? You watch by week two I will be drooling for a big meaty steak.

Here is an overview of what it entails. I have Six months to get my numbers down. I will periodically post the progress here on the site.

Review of Mediterranean Diet
· Strive for a more plant- based diet.
· Go meatless several times a week.
· Try vegetable protein sources such as legumes and soy.
· Increase fiber. Eat foods in their least refined version such as whole grains.
· Eat at least 7 servings of fruits and vegetables daily.
· Use olive oil and as your main fat source.
· Decrease saturated fat to no more than 8-10% total calories.
· Use low fat dairy products.
· Use cheese as a flavoring or seasoning.
· Up to four eggs with yolks are allowed weekly (depending on your cholesterol).
· Use lean meat sources such as chicken and turkey, venison and elk.
· Limit red beef, lamb and pork to 1-2 times per month.
· Limit trans-fatty acids by avoiding margarine, shortening, deep fried foods and commercially prepared baked goods and snacks.
· Avoid corn, safflower, sunflower, and soybean oils.
· Increase omega-3 fatty acids in your diet. Eat cold-water fatty fish several times per week. Walnuts, canola oil, flaxseeds, and some vegetables greens are also good sources of omega 3 fatty acids.
· Avoid high-glycemic index carbohydrates such as soft drinks, white rice, sugar, potatoes, sugary breakfast cereals, white flour, corn, white breads and beer.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

