RSS Feed

First Rain


It is the first rain of the season. I figured today was a great day to sit in and do some cooking. I started off with a beef stew with red wine, with flavors of basil, thyme, bay leaf, and a jalapeno pepper for heat. The house smelled fabulous. I then decided to make a loaf of bread. My first hand at Honey Wheat bread. Wow what a smell and SO delicious slathered in Heart Smart Butter (South Beach Baby!) Then for kicks and giggles I made a blackberry peach pie. I did it as close to south beach as I could. I love blackberrys and after todays rain they will be gone. So here is my blackberry pie recipe. Enjoy!

2 lbs. peaches thickly sliced
1 cup blackberries
1 tbsp. lemon Juice (I used half a fresh squeezed lemon)
1/2 cup splenda
1 tsp. vanilla
2 Tbsp cornstarch

Place the peaches, blackberries, lemon juice, and vanilla in a large colander set over a bowl to catch the liquid. Leave to sit for 2 hours, stirring occasionally. Pour the liquid into a small saucepan over high heat and bring to a boil. Cook for 3-5 min. until reduced by about half and syrupy. At this point to thicken I added 1-1/2 tbsp. flour (I used whole wheat) sifted into the boiling syrup.

Place berries and sauce in a pie shell (store bought or your own) spreading evenly. Make sure you fill your pie well because the filling will collapse a little during cooking. Top with another shell and crimp. Be sure to add slashes or slits in the top to allow pie to vent.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, place pie on a cookie sheet, for easy cleanup use foil on sheet. Brush the top of the pie with milk and a light dusting of sugar (splenda). Bake for 15 min at 400 then turn heat down to 350 and bake an additional 30 min.

Let pie cool 30 min. before serving.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

