RSS Feed

Sweet Tea

Kailey has been talking about how everywhere she goes they are offered sweet tea as their drink when dining out. She asked me one day how it was made. I imagined it was just brewed tea with sugar.

Curiosity go the best of me and I hit Google to find out for sure. It was sweetened tea, but it was a simple syrup that was the start of this delicious refreshing drink.

Being a South Beach Dieter, I did the South Beach friendly version. Here it is

8 Lipton Tea Bags
1 cup sugar (I used splenda)
4 cups water

Bring water and sugar to a boil. Once it is boiling drop in the 8 tea bags letting the boiling water cover the bags. The water will rise and begin to foam, thats ok, remove it from the burner. Let it sit 20 min to 1 hour.

Fill a two quart pitcher 1/2 way with ice, then pour half the tea syrup over ice. (great opportunity to pull out Grandma’s Green Glass pitcher she gave me for Thanksgivings) Fill remaining pitcher with water. Serve over ice, with a slice of Lemon if desired. The remaining half syrup can be used for pitcher number two or make a gallon if you have that sized container.

It is as delicious as they proclaim.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

