RSS Feed

Happy Birthday Kailey!

My first born is turning 21 today. It is overwhelming thinking that time has gone by so quickly. I remember the moment that Kailey was born, she was placed on my tummy. My mother and Chris were present. We all looked, counted toes, and fingers, and smiled, and squeeled with joy. We had always thought she was a boy, Brandon Gerald Harpole, but upon counting, looking, observing, we saw that the baby on my tummy was indeed a girl, the shouts were incredible “It’s a GIRL”. How incredible that feeling was.

As the years have passed by I have had watched Kailey in 4-h, with blue ribbons in showing and presentations. She was active in German Club, went to Germany over spring break, and spent her spending money on her family and friends to show how much she enjoyed her trip. She was always top of her class in math, English and languages. When she graduated highschool she was not sure that she could hold up to those high standards that she set in highschool.

Her first year she was a liberal arts major. Her second year she met Rick. He showed her that she was smarter than she let herself believe. That she could be anything she wanted. After following him to picnics, tours, etc. She enrolled in the nuclear program at OSU. She had put two years into Nuclear Radiation Health Technician (scuse me if I have it wrong Kailey). She loved it, right up her field. She was back.

Today Kailey is supporting Rick, her boyfriend in North Carolina. He graduated in June with as a Nuclear Engineer. He is in North Carolina with a full ride scholarship with a job and full medical. Who could pass that up. The two didnt think they could take two years apart that far away.

So back to September 5. This is my first birthday with out my first born and it is quite emotional. But I am so proud of her. I wish I could be there to help her tackle the large bugs, the humid weather, the “hair days” (she inherited the curly hair gene) and just be there to celebrate the wonderful 21 years she has give her father and I .

Happy Birthday Kailey!

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

