RSS Feed

Garden Goodies

The season is coming to an end and the garden is too. I took most out due to Pursulane (a supposed edible weed) but still have some tomatoes, a zucchini and some sunflowers and pumpkins. Looks pretty bare.

Sunday I Made SBD friendly zucchini bread and it wasn’t too bad. Nice change of pace for an on the go breakfast.

Sunday I Made SBD friendly zucchini bread and it wasn’t too bad. Nice change of pace for an on the go breakfast.

South Beach Zucchini Bread (Phase II)

3 Eggs
1¾ Cups Splenda
1 Cup Canola Oil
1 Tablespoon Vanilla
2½ Cups Shredded Zucchini – Firmly Packed
3 Cups Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 teaspoon Salt
1 teaspoon Cinnamon

Optional – Add any/all as you prefer…

1 Cup Chopped Nuts
1 Cup Raisins (not SB Friendly – included because it is traditional)
6oz (half package) Mini Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips

In a large bowl, beat together eggs, Splenda, oil, vanilla – several minutes until fluffy. Shred zucchini in a food processor using larger-sized shredding disk. (Hint: It isn’t necessary to peel the zucchini…leaving it on adds color and fiber) Stir zucchini into wet ingredients.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Add dry sifted ingredients to wet ingredients – stir just to combine. Stir in any optional ingredients.

Spray pans with cooking spray and dust lightly with flour. Pour batter into prepared pans, and bake at 350 until toothpick comes out clean and top springs back to the touch. Don’t overbake. Suggested times for different pans included below:

2 8×4-inch loaf pans – 50-60 minutes
1 Bundt pan – 50-60 minutes
14 4½ x 2½-inch mini loaf pans (my sister’s absolute favorite way to make this) – 25 minutes

NOTE: Dark-surfaced pans may require shorter baking times.

When done, remove from oven, and cool on wire rack for 5 minutes, then remove from pans and allow to cool completely.
NOTE: If using regular whole wheat flour instead of whole wheat pastry flour, sift ingredients twice to help lighten the texture.


Before roasting

Today I am roasting my tomatoes. Being the Food Blog Junkie that I am, they have inspired me to try my hand at roasting my tomatoes and putting them up in the freezer for sauces, soups, and stews. I thought I would share with you the process.

First off I took all the ripe tomatoes off the vine, rinsed them in the sink and removed the stems. Next I cut them all in half then tossed with Olive Oil, dried basil, Oregano, basil, you can use whatever seasonings you prefer. Take a baking sheet and spray Pam on the surface, I used Olive Oil Pam and then placed the tomatoes fruit side down on the cookie sheet. Place them in the oven at 250 degrees. The roasting process they said takes approx. 9 hours depending on your tomato size. and oven temperature. Romas are the best to use due to the size and the uniformity of the fruit.

Meanwhile during the cooking time you will start smelling a wonderful aroma spread through your house. Check on them every few hours. You are looking for the tomatoes to shrivel in size, the skins to start popping off. My tomatoes started to look done at about 5 hours. I took the smaller ones out and did as the recipe stated and turned the larger ones over and let them cook longer, moving the temperature down to 200 degrees. They were WAY overcooked, not much left of them and in half the time of the original recipe.

Needless to say I was not impressed with this method of roasting tomatoes. I will try to do them the way I would have originally done them which is a faster roasting method, skin side up. I will let you know how attempt number 2 goes. They say the third time is the charm?

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

