RSS Feed

Finding humor

Posted on

Ever feel like something is happening in slow motion and you can’t speed it up? I had a night like that the other day. I had spied some Hershey’s Chocolate Kisses in the snack drawer, forgot all about them being there, and I grabbed the package with excitement to show Chris my find. I started down the hallway with package in one hand and opening one in the other when just as I hit the bedroom I stepped down and something sharp went into my foot. I dropped the bag, bit my tongue, looked at my foot, gasped, grabbed the door frame to the room and said to Chris “Get it OUT!” He says, “Get what out?”, I pushed my leg straighter out and said “get it out” he says “huh?” Meanwhile its like slooow motion, trying to get across to him that I have something in my foot, again I said “The needle, get it out of my foot” he gets off the bed moves towards my foot says, “Wow you have a needle in your foot” DUH! “Pull it out” I said. He said “that’s gotta hurt” and he pulls it out.

I hobbled to the bed forgetting about the kisses, looked at the hole in my foot and wondered when was the last time I had a tetanus shot. I still never figured it out, and then remembered the treasure of kisses. I picked them up, brought them back to the bed but the allure of them had been lost.

Two days later, my foot is still there, I don’t have lock jaw from tetanus, STILL haven’t enjoyed the Kisses, but I smile at how humorous that whole incident was.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

Leave a Reply

