RSS Feed

What a week! Where to start. Hmmm from first …

Posted on

What a week! Where to start. Hmmm from first to last or last to first? I think I will start from current and go backwards.

Today I made the cheesecake cupcakes that I found online. I didnt have the foil paper cups and it is best you buy those. Helps form the cheesecake. I used the original cheesecake recipe, but instead of the mandarin orange slice, I picked blackberrys on our property, I put in a dash of Grand Mariner, a 1/2 cup of my brothers wife’s Peach/orange marmalade, sugar and flour for thickening and topped them with that. The taste is phenominal.. presentation could use some work. So when paige gets home we will have to do some more picking and perfect it.

Earlier in the week I was watching a show on Food TV, what else.. LOL And I saw this veggie? Watermelon Radish. It is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. I have to find one! Check this out!

Our garden was ripped out this year after much preparation for it to be perfect. We had this weed growing through it: People EAT this stuff. Looks like a Jade plant to me.

The Airpistol. No I don’t shoot the birds that come to our feeders with it.

WHAT fun they are! One of the things I want to do is become less afraid of guns. Ok so I started with an airpistol.. but I am a helluva shot. Our OLD garden is now a shooting range. We have a sawblade on the fence, a pepsi liter bottle filled with water, we have cans, a fake seagul, shovel propped against the fence and several other objects to shoot at. It took me about 3 weeks to be able to learn to site the target and hit it. NOW I love it!!

And lastly… arent you glad I saved the worst for last. I went to the doc 2 weeks ago. Appears of I have sun damage to my skin (pre-cancer) They used liquid nitrogen to remove it and the results of that are horrible. Being a Whitey Norwegian, tanning for two years of my life, has caused me to have several spots that are questionable and are in need of freezing and removal. I now where 50 sunscreen even on my makeup. Please be aware of the dangers of the sun.

So the end of this week, I find that Kailey will be here Monday to spend the rest of the week before she leaves with us, and Paige will be joining on Thursday. I can hardly wait. I don’t know what we will do, but hoping Paige gets here early Thursday and we can go into the fair locally and eat junk food, listen to Kenny Loggins, and just enjoy the time togehter…

So that is my week in a nutshell, good bad and the ugly.

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

3 responses »

  1. I CAN’T WAIT TO COME HOME!

    Reply
  2. I can’t wait either… 🙂 TOO COOL!

    Reply
  3. i wish i could come home 😦 i miss weekends at your place, but hey at least i tried talking kailey into it…turns out she may have listened a little bit 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

