RSS Feed

Baked Tortilla Shell Salad Bowls

Posted on

flour-bowl.jpgWith the weather improving and working in the yard more, I like foods like this that take no time to make and are versatile.  This salad bowl takes 10-15 min. depending on how crispy you like your bowls, and can be made with Mission Low Carb tortilla’s, my favorite or any flour tortilla you like.  Once the bowls are done, let them cool and fill with whatever you heart desires.  

Find an oven proof bowl that you can form a bowl in.  Here is mine, I have three that were give

redbowl.jpg

n to me by Grandma Benson and they work perfectly giving it a curve as they bake.   

Spray the bowl with PAM and press flour tortilla into bowl.  Spray the top of the shell with PAM to help it Brown. Place in a 375 degree oven.  After 5 minutes, check the shell often to make sure it doesn’t overcook.

Remove from oven and bowl and allow to cool. That’s all there is to it!

In our house we like to place a layer of re-fried beans on the bottom, then lettuce, tomatoes, cheeses, whatever you like.  I usually use leftover chicken or will grill a chicken breast to place on the top.   Our family likes to top it with a mixture of sour cream and picante sauce.  Use your imagination!  Doesn’t have to be just for Taco Salads.

salad.jpgLow Cal/Low Fat…And beautiful presentation of salad.  I would post a picture of the finished salad, but as most of you know, Chris gets impatient, so I got as far as the lettuce in the bowl and he was ready to eat. 

Have fun!

About heylaydee

An average cook, an enthusiasm for experimenting and trying new things, is the reason for this blog. That and I found myself in the “empty nest” syndrome and needed an outlet. So I picked up the camera that was collecting dust, got out the pile of recipes, contacted friends and family for their favorites and starting cooking again. What could be better than a glass of wine, a hot stove, and creativity? Come along for the ride. I will be blogging about food, family, and anything else that inspires me.

20 responses »

  1. Tried the crisp shell sure beats deep frying for taco salad, Bill got a kick out of it. Just like at a real restaurant, doesn’t take much to entertain us. Thanks
    Shirley

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Chinese Chicken Salad « Therapeutic Ramblings

  3. Just had Taco Salads last night and did them the deep fry way …. your method looks easier and makes more sense … less fattening too !!!
    Gonna try your method next time I make taco salads.

    Bud

    Reply
  4. Bud, you will have to let me know what you think of the baked shells. I have the perfect oven proof bowls that give them the fluted edge, but any oven proof bowl will work. Good luck!

    Reply
  5. how long before the time can you bake the shells? I need to make 65 for a lunch?
    thanks
    r

    Reply
  6. Hi Renee,

    Because there is no oil used, you could make them a day or two in advance. My husband always takes one to lunch the second day and never complains about the shell being soggy.

    Your luncheon sounds fantastic! Good luck

    Reply
  7. Just made my husband a Taco Salad. Thanks for sharing how to make the crispy taco shells!

    Reply
  8. maybe my girlfriend will get off her behind and make me a taco salad.

    Reply
  9. I devised an excellent method for fajita shells.
    Go to the hardware store and buy a piece of steel 1/4″ mesh, I think it’s called hardware cloth.(not galvanized)
    Cut a circle about 1/2″ larger than the size circle you want.
    Fold over a 1/4″ edge or lip all the way around the circle and flatten it,(this is just to keep from poking yourself on the edges).
    Now fold up the edges like a cupcake, I made 6 flutes or scallops.
    Put soft shell in mold press into corners and bake until nicely browned and crisp, doesn’t take long.

    Reply
  10. I just baked my first tortilla shells. It is 7 hours till supper. Will they get soft. I like them crisp.
    I didn’t cover them and have them just setting on the counter.
    Thanks,
    Susie

    Reply
  11. Thanks for getting back to me so fast. :)
    Can’t wait to try them.
    Susie

    Reply
  12. Could these bowls be possibly used to eat taco soup out of?

    Reply
    • I like the idea. I have never tried it before. I would think they would get too soggy to hold soup for a long period of time. Let me know if you do try it and how it turned out!

      Reply
  13. Thanks for this quick and easy method! I don’t have any oven proof bowls, but I balled up some tin foil and pressed my tortilla around the ball (so it’s an upside down bowl) and sprayed the outside. It probably wont sit flat, but I will just place the shell in another bowl when preparing the salad. Thanks again!

    Reply
  14. Pingback: Make It Count « Newly Everything

  15. So glad to find this recipe. I’m in charge of lunch for our golf league with a South of the Border theme. Want to do taco salad and thought tortilla shells would be nice. Need to make about 30 and hope they work. Otherwise, may check at a Mexican restaurant to see how much they’ll sell them to me.

    Reply
  16. Reblogged this on Therapeutic Ramblings and commented:

    This is probably the most searched recipe on the blog. I thought I would reprise it and bring it up front again. Perfect bowl for summer salads with none of the fat of the original deepfried version. Enjoy!

    Reply
  17. This is great. I almost ordered those taco shell molds from on tv. But I read the reviews of how they cost way to much. glad I found this. Thanks…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

